comment 0

Breakfast and Bloody Marys: New Orleans Edition

I’m probably hungover as I’m attempting to write this right now. It’s Mardi Gras and I’m in New Orleans. I’ve been here since February 12th and I can’t figure out how I’m still breathing and moving after consuming so much alcohol and breakfast food (mostly omelets and hash browns). Before I start talking about this amazing hole in the wall place that sounds extremely sketchy, I have to tell you how I came across this place.

It was 5 A.M. and I was awake. Why was I awake? It’s because I was on Bourbon Street and lost track of time. The bars were closing, meaning no more daiquiris, hand grenades, fish bowls, and delicious greasy pizza. I wanted and needed food as soon as possible.  My friends and I walked back to our hotel room and I’m the only one talking about food. Typical Des move.

I’m scrolling through the Urban Spoon app trying to find a restaurant that opens early, has Bloody Marys, breakfast, and craw fish. I found a good ole restaurant called Daisy Dukes located on the French Quarter, which kinda creeped me out at first because who would want to go to a restaurant called Daisy Dukes. It could have been a strip club/breakfast bar with strippers dancing on it, but thank goodness it wasn’t. It had all the qualities that I could ever want in a restaurant. It is open 24/7, has bottomless Bloody Marys, breakfast, and craw fish. I hit the freaking jackpot.

Daisy Dukes has a 4 star rating on Google reviews, 4 stars on Urban Spoon, positive reviews, and gumbo that will make you fall in love the moment you taste it. That was my first time trying gumbo and now that’s all I want for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

To start things off, I ordered their award winning Bloody Mary.  If I’m not drinking coffee, I’m drinking a Bloody Mary no matter what time of the day it is.  It had olives, Cajun spices, okra, celery, hot sauce, a gallon of vodka and a craw fish that was supposed to be hanging from the glass.  I drank four of them and also got one to go.  This deal was only $8.00. Mind blowing.

bloody mary

While drinking, I ordered a Cajun omelet. This omelet was the holy grail of omelets, although it did not look like it. This omelet looked super basic, but one bite of this and you’ll want more.  It came with hot sausage (which was the best part of eating it), cheese, onion, parsley, tomato, paprika, cracked pepper, crispy hash browns with hot sauce, and a lovely piece of white toast.  This was only $9.95.

cajun omelet

My friends also ordered food, but it was only gumbo. Spicy Cajun gumbo with a hot buttery southern style biscuit, and white rice in the middle. I was jealous of not getting gumbo with my meal, so I just decided to eat half of theirs. What are friends for? This gumbo had shrimp, tiny pieces of chicken, different spices and whatever else is in gumbo.

gumbo

I would give this restaurant 5 stars because everything was amazing, I’m in love with the gumbo (see what I did there), our waitress was hilarious and sweet, and it’s the perfect place to go after a long night/morning on Bourbon.  I will definitely be returning for lunch and for when I have to eat again at 3 A.M.

Leave a Reply

